nextERA's mission is to drive Alliance member engagement, assist with research on emerging best practices in the field, and advise the Board on strategic opportunities and emerging issues.

The nextERA Advisory Group is an advocacy group for 21st Century innovative local government. Created by the Alliance for Innovation Board of Directors in late 2014, the group advances an agenda for Engagement, Research, and Advice to the Alliance Board for the benefit of the Alliance for Innovation members. The group has representation from across North America and is a key part of supporting the Alliance's mission.

nextERA Advisory Group Members


Name Title Organization
Michael Davis Strategic Initiatives Manager Durham County, NC
Toy Beeninga Budget & Management Services City of Raleigh, NC
Dana Clarke Mgr of Innovation & Continous Improvement City of Barrie, ON CANADA
Charisse Deschenes Assistant City Manager City of Sequim, WA
Ed Foley Director of Enterprise Project Management, Planning & Institutional Effectiveness Metropolitan Community College (Kansas City, MO)
Kristen Gorham Senior Management Analyst City of Chamblee, GA
Kyle Kridler Assistant City Manager City of Delaware, OH
Bryan Layton Assistant County Manager Navajo County, AZ
Eric Sandoval (AFI Board Rep) GIS Administrator & Innovation Team Lead City of Salinas, CA
Kara Sokol Director of Communications City of Ferndale, MI
Greg Stopka (Chair) Manager of Strategy and Innovation Park District of Oak Park, IL
Catherine Tkachyk (Vice Chair) Chief Innovation & Performance Officer Cuyahoga County, OH
Brian Uhl Assistant City Administrator City of Springdale, OH